1 Comment

Thank You Morrghan For the Nomination of “The Witchy Blog Award”


I have been nominated for the Witchy Blog Award, what an honor to be recognized by my other Online Wiccans, Witches and Pagans. Thank you so much to Morrghan at TheEnchantedSolitare for nominating me. It is a pleasure to share my knowledge of the Craft with others who are following their own path. Its a good thing my husband; Ryan, is a classroom assistant substitute today so I have the whole day un interupted to finish my post.

According to Ayslyn’s Corner and Book of Shadows: The purpose of this award is to bring positive recognition to those bloggers who share their experiences on the less-traveled path, whether in the form of a journal or by standing up for themselves and others. Our award logo was a collaborate endeavor made with love that we are both very proud of. So without any further ado, onward to the details of the newest award to find its way to the blogsphere!

The Rules:

  • Post the award logo within your blog post
  • Thank the blogger who passed the award to you
  • Answer the seven questions below
  • Nominate five Wiccan/Pagan bloggers (If you don’t know five other Wiccan bloggers, nominate as many as you can)
  • Notify your nominees of their pending award
  • Give a short description of the blog/blogger and why you nominated them
  • Stop by Ayslyn’s Corner and Book of Shadows to add your name to the list of bloggers awarded
  • You may customize the questions as long as they are still Wiccan- and Pagan-related

The Question List

  1. How did you “discover” Wicca/witchcraft?
  2. Do you grow herbs?
  3. Are you “in the broom closet”? If not, share your coming out experience
  4. What tradition do you follow?
  5. Do you consider yourself a witch, Wiccan or Pagan (or maybe something else?)
  6. How much of witchcraft/Wicca are you able to incorporate into your everyday life?
  7. Do you have a familiar? If you do, tell us how you met him/her and how she/he takes part in your practice (if at all)

My Answers to the Questions

How did you “discover” Wicca?
I really can’t say that I discovered Wicca; more correctly put, I would say that Wicca discovered me. My Grandfather was a Minister and he would always tell the family that I was different from all of them. He would say to keep searching for what is right for me and don’t ever take anyone else’s word for something I didn’t feel in my heart. I began to do that in my favorite place; the library, at the age of 10 and by the time I was 12 I had found Gerald Gardner, Charles Leland, Aleister Crowley and the old Authors. I even studied the logs of the original Salam Witch Trials and the studies of the day into the cause and effect of the massacre. I also studied every kind of religious text I could find and decided that Wicca was the path I would follow.
Do you grow herbs?
I have grown my own herbs in the past, but I don’t at this time. I have degenerative arthritis and am not able to do gardening outdoors anymore. I would like to start a small indoor herb garden but we are planning to downsize for retirement in 2-3 years and I would hate to find I couldn’t keep them. I’ll wait until we get moved then go from there.
Are you in the “broom closet”?
I’m not in the Broom Closet and don’t think I ever really have been. Right after I made the decision of my Personal Path, I announced it to my parents and friends. At first they thought it was a joke, then a phase, then it just became a fact that I did weird things with my mind. Everyone knew that I could move things, hear what they were thinking or talking about from across the room, tell them when things were going to happen and talk to the animals around town. Of course it was frowned on in the small, bible belt town I grew up in but I was always considered an innovator (not to mention a little strange). By the time the New Witch came with the internet they were excepted in town without much trying.
What tradition do you follow?
I am a Solitary Neo-Pagan Witch today but I would have to say that I have many Gardnerian and Celtic influences within my tradition. I still have to say I am a Neo-Pagan/New Witch because I prefer to re-write the old Rituals to enhance my own experience and will look at the Old Texts and think that they don’t read quite the way I need them to read. If I were a true Gardnerian or Celtic Wiccan I would not change the way the Old Traditions tell us things are.
Do you consider yourself a witch, Wiccan, Pagan, or something else?
I am a New-Witch. I have powers that have come to me from family lines handed down from Scottish Highland Clans and Cherokee Royalty. That makes me a natural witch in some traditions however; like I said before, I like to re-write the rules.
How much witchcraft do you incorporate in your daily life?
I really have never thought about how much witchcraft that I incorporate into my life each day; witchcraft just is life. To me; when the Hawk lands in my woods out back and sits there until I notice, that’s witchcraft in my life. When the squirrel waits for Sparky and I to get out of the house and get ready, then runs for the tree so we can chase, that’s witchcraft/magick in my life. I do spend a good deal of my day researching and writing in my Book of Shadows then setting the info up for The Summer Goddess so that I can share what I’ve learned with other Witches, Wiccans and Pagans as well as anyone else that is interested in learning.
Do you have a familiar?
I do have a familiar named Sparky, a Jack Russell Terror that is 8 years old now. I adopted him from the Richland County OH Dog Warden’s Office one day when he was about 6 months old. My husband had just come home from Iraq and we had already discussed getting a dog when we got settled together in Akron so I decided to go looking one day while I was waiting on Phil to get out of school. We had been looking on PetFinder.com while he was out of the country and had decided that we wanted a puggle or maybe a beagle…or a Jack Russell if we could find the right one. I played with a little puppy at the pet store but something about her wasn’t right so I thought, “What the hell, I’ll go to the dog pound and see what they have.” I looked in all the rooms…in all the cages (I thought) then in the back corner of a small puppy cage I saw this little tail start moving. He came to greet me, we went to the playroom and I asked all about him. He wasn’t going up for adoption until the next day at opening so I had time to drive back to Akron, get the money and get up the next day early to go get him. Phil waited at the door for 10 minutes for them to unlock it then ran back to get him so no one else would. At first, Sparky wouldn’t come out to him but when I walked into the room he dived into my arms from 5 feet up and 6-7 feet away. End of story…he was always mine even before the two of us knew it.

Now…My nominees and why I chose them!

A Year and a Day
I chose A Year and a Day as one of my nominees because I like the way that the site is set up as well as the information and research involved in the posts.
wildwoodwytch’s Blog

Although this is a relatively new blog, I feel that this one should be nominated because her heart is in the right place. She will be a good Witch when she learns all of the information she needs to continue on her path
Shaheen Miro

I chose this blog because it reflected my same state of mind. The simple, minimalist theme along with the posts say that this is what life is. There is no mumbo-jumbo, I’m going to show you how great I am. I liked it in all ways I checked out.
Chongbai Shen
I think this Tag Line said it all for me “Faith knows no boundaries: Be open to believing.” This is a blog I follow just to watch the transformation of this new witch. I am interested in the growth of understanding.
Alaiyo’s Solitary Pagan Corner

I picked this one because of the newest post. The picture added to the site just today says, “Educate people so that ‘Witch’ is not evil but ancient and positive.” That is how we should all feel today and for always.

*Whew* That was a lot of work! Okay that’s my list for The Witchy Blog Award so I hope that everyone enjoys checking out all the blogs that I nominated. I’ll also start to follow the two sites that have the Award going around online so that they are easier for my nominees to find.

Until next time…Blessed Be…Sheila

One comment on “Thank You Morrghan For the Nomination of “The Witchy Blog Award”

  1. you are welcome and deserving to :-)

Leave a Reply

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

Sedefche

Vantage point from a malleable heart and a vulnerable soul

carolynnrayment

A great WordPress.com site

Tender Buttons

“Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” Samuel Beckett

Witchy Rants

You all were thinking it. I was just the one that said it.

caimbeul

"Mysticism is dancing with the mystery, not trying to figure it out."

Writing for Joy: An Unpublished Showcase

Poetry, poetic prose and curious musings

My Eyes Are Up Here

My experience with breast cancer

SHADED BLISS

A dermatologist's mission to help you tap into your sun-conscious so you can be sun-safe, sun-savvy and love your skin and yourself as your pursue your bliss

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

shiny pebbles

Writing myself present...

Jennifer Mary Evans

A Texas Transplant from The Big Apple

Gluten free dairy free soy free dream

For those living gf, df, and sf.

CigarettesNPoetry

at least poetry doesn't give you cancer...

maggiemaeijustsaythis

Poetry, Stories, Life, Mental Illness, Death, Divorce, Love, Hope, Pain, Journey, Honesty, Sex, Mystery, Horror, Art, Experience, Abuse, Addiction, Survival, Coping, Misery, How to love the dark.

all about mEL...

smile, laugh, forgive, believe, and love all over again...❤❤❤

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

