Leave a comment

Drawing Down the Moon–Solitary Ritual


Sorry to everyone; I’ve been away for longer than I expected to! I had to get everything ready for Thanksgiving because Shelley brought a new friend; Christopher, to dinner that night. Then Phil received his Book of Shadows from Brahm’s Bookworks; so I had to finish my Book of Shadows in hard copy. I had to print all 250 pages then have them laminated and punch holes to put them in my binder. Now he is free to change the order that it was in so he can print his out. I spent more than a couple of nights typing until the sun came up! His book is gorgeous…Brahm does magnificent work. I would defanately recommend him if you want a work of art for your Book of Shadows! Make sure you check out his site online.

Now, back to the reason for this post; the solitary ritual. Drawing Down the Moon is a ritual during which the Goddess is invoked and asked to descend into the body of the High Priestess so that She can speak to the coven through her. This is usually performed at the Full Moon and can be used as a sexual ritual between the High Priestess and High Priest if the coven so chooses.

Raymond Buckland also wrote a solitary version of the ritual in his book “Wicca For One.” I am going to post that ritual first since I know that many of my readers are solitaries. Following shortly after; probably later tonight, I am going to post the version that is written for a coven.

Drawing Down the Moon

Solitary Ritual

(Open the Circle)

Goddess of the Moon; my Lady Epona! You have been known by many different names in many different lands and times, yet do you remain constant. You give Your light at the darkest of times, smiling down upon us and watching over us. I ask You now, as Queen of all Witchcrafts, to come down and join with me, blending Your voice with mine, as I say:

(Stand in the full Goddess Position with arm upward and outward; palms up)

I am She who watches over all, whether they be awake or asleep. I am the Mother of all life. It gives Me great pleasure that you should pay me homage at the full of the Moon. Let My worship always be within your heart. Behold! All acts of love and pleasure are My rituals, therefore let there be beauty and strength, power and compassion, honor and humility, mirth and reverence within you. If you seek Me, know that your seeking and yearning avail you not unless you know the mystery — that
if you cannot find what you seek within you, you will never find it without. For behold! I have been with you from the beginning and I am that which is attained at the end of desire.

Know that; together with My Lord, I weave the web of life for everyone. I am at the beginning and at the end of life and time. I am Maiden; Mother; Crone. Wherever you may be, if you need Me then call upon Me and I will be there. I live deep within you; I am Life and I am Love. Be true to Me and I will always be true to you. Harm none and love all of life. So Mote It Be!

(Meditate for a short period of time)

(Write down your experience in your journal)

(Close the Circle)

Raymond Buckland also says in his book, “Don’t be surprised if the Goddess manifests herself and takes over your voice. You may suddenly find yourself saying words you hadn’t even thought about. Don’t be alarmed. This is the Goddess herself making her presence felt. Try to remember what it is that she says through you. If she does not come into you (it won’t always happen and for some people it never happens), simply say the written words and feel yourself blending with the Lady and speaking for Her.”

There you have the Solitary ritual of Drawing Down the Moon and now I will format the Coven ritual so that I can get it posted as well.

Leave a Reply

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

Sedefche

Vantage point from a malleable heart and a vulnerable soul

carolynnrayment

A great WordPress.com site

Tender Buttons

“Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” Samuel Beckett

Witchy Rants

You all were thinking it. I was just the one that said it.

caimbeul

"Mysticism is dancing with the mystery, not trying to figure it out."

Writing for Joy: An Unpublished Showcase

Poetry, poetic prose and curious musings

My Eyes Are Up Here

My experience with breast cancer

SHADED BLISS

A dermatologist's mission to help you tap into your sun-conscious so you can be sun-safe, sun-savvy and love your skin and yourself as your pursue your bliss

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

shiny pebbles

Writing myself present...

Jennifer Mary Evans

A Texas Transplant from The Big Apple

Gluten free dairy free soy free dream

For those living gf, df, and sf.

CigarettesNPoetry

at least poetry doesn't give you cancer...

maggiemaeijustsaythis

Poetry, Stories, Life, Mental Illness, Death, Divorce, Love, Hope, Pain, Journey, Honesty, Sex, Mystery, Horror, Art, Experience, Abuse, Addiction, Survival, Coping, Misery, How to love the dark.

all about mEL...

smile, laugh, forgive, believe, and love all over again...❤❤❤

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

